Strategic Conversation Participants (List developed from 2-7-12 BOT Minutes)

Bob Boyd	FCC	William Walker	ASG
Rashana Swinton	FCC	Rene Villa	ASG
Elizabeth Servin	FCC	Joshua Roberts	ASG
Tom Mester	WI	Michael Olague	ASG
Maria Perales	RC	Amber Olmo	Student
Mario Reyna	FCC	Daniel Thomas Clark	Student
Monique Reyna	FCC	Grisanti Valencia	ASG
Richard Iyall	FCC	Caitlin Mack	ASG
Ashley Torres Towers	FCC	Rachel McKinley	FCC ASG
Nathan Squire		Michael Wilson	ASG
Leierin Carney	WI	Nathan Alonzo	FCC ASG
Cathleen Martinez	FCC	Shirley Bruegman	
Jennifer Johnson	FCC	Anaccelly Hernandez	ASG
Brenda Quispe	FCC	Donna Berry	RC
Veronica Farewell	FCC ASG	Pedro Navarro-Cruz	ASG
Cindy Quiralte	FCC ASG President	Lucy Ruiz	RC
Juan Tirado	RC	Deborah Ikeda	NC
Melanie Highfill	RC Classified Senate	Rhyann McClanahan	Student
Randall Vogt	SCCCD	Eriica McClanahan	Student
Gricelda Spear	RC	Airren McClanahan	Student
Sandra Navarro	WI	Ivy Arana	FCC
Michelle Whiteside	FCC	Doris M. Griffin	SCCCD
Greg Jorgenson	FCC	Kelly Fowler	FCC
Dena Corglat	FCC	Alex Tavlian	Rampage
Shawn Wade	FCC	Troy Pope	Rampage
Cheryl Sullivan	SCCCD	Gloria De La Cruz-Pulido	MC
Charles Francis	FCC	Chris Villa	FCC
John Bengtson	SCCCD	Marilyn Behringer	RC
Tabitha Villalba	FCC	Brian Speece	SCCCD
Matthew Miyake	WI	Ashwaq Mohamed	FCC
Brian Droz	WI	Mulky Mohamed	FCC
Andrew Hernandez	FCC	Marcelena Cervantes	FCC
Chris Hunter	NAISA	Lucas Reyes	WI ASG
Nicole Zamora	FCC	Harpreet Manchanda	WI ASG
Josh P. Zamora	FCC	Raymundo Berlayo Jr.	FCC
Cris M. Bremer	FCC	Braulio Bahena	FCC
Claudia Habib	FCC Academic	Joey Baldwin	FCC
	Senate		
Teresa Patterson	SCCCD	Nia Ayala	WI
Gurdeep He'Bert	SCCCD	Greg Taylor	SCCCD
Wil Schofield	SCCCD	Paul Schlesinger	FCC Rampage
Janell Mendoza	NC	Emily Kokka	WI

MINUTES OF MEETING OF BOARD OF TRUSTEES STATE CENTER COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT

February 7, 2012

Call to Order A regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of the State Center

Community College District was called to order by

President Ron Feaver at 1:58 p.m., February 7, 2012, in Old Administration Building Room 251, Fresno City College, 1101 E.

University Avenue, Fresno, California.

Trustees Present H. Ronald Feaver, President

William J. Smith, Vice President

Richard Caglia, Secretary

Isabel Barreras

Ronald H. Nishinaka Patrick E. Patterson Dorothy Smith

Christopher Coronado, FCC Student Trustee

Kayla Urbano, RC Student Trustee

Also present were:

Deborah G. Blue, Chancellor, SCCCD

Ed Eng, Vice Chancellor – Finance and Administration, SCCCD

Tony Cantu, Interim President, Fresno City College

Mitjl Capet, President, Reedley College

Terry Kershaw, Vice Chancellor – North Centers

Robert Fox, Acting Assoc. Vice Chancellor - Workforce Dev. &

Ed. Services

Randy Rowe, Assoc. Vice Chancellor – Human Resources, SCCCD

Nina Acosta, Executive Secretary to the Chancellor

Strategic Conversations #1 – Connecting to the

Vision

[A report of the Strategic Conversations #1 is attached to these

minutes]

Recess

A recess was called by President Feaver at 3:55 p.m.

Reconvene Meeting

The regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of the State Center Community College District was reconvened by President Ron Feaver at 4:30 p.m. in the district office board room, 1525 E.

Weldon Avenue, Fresno, California.

Trustees Present

H. Ronald Feaver, President William J. Smith, Vice President

Minutes, Board of Trustees, February 7, 2012 – Page 2

Richard Caglia, Secretary

Isabel Barreras

Ronald H. Nishinaka

Patrick E. Patterson

Dorothy Smith

Christopher Coronado, FCC Student Trustee

Kayla Urbano, RC Student Trustee

Also present were:

Deborah G. Blue, Chancellor, SCCCD

Ed Eng, Vice Chancellor – Finance and Administration, SCCCD

Tony Cantu, Interim President, Fresno City College

Mitjl Capet, President, Reedley College

Terry Kershaw, Vice Chancellor – North Centers

Robert Fox, Acting Assoc. Vice Chancellor – Workforce Dev. & Ed. Services

Randy Rowe, Assoc. Vice Chancellor – Human Resources, SCCCD

Nina Acosta, Executive Secretary to the Chancellor

Introduction of Guests

Among the others present, the following signed the guest list:

Bob Boyd, FCC

Rashana Swinton, FCC

Elizabeth Servin, FCC

Tom Mester, WI

Maria Perales, RC

Mario Reyna, FCC

Monique Reyna, FCC

Richard Iyall, FCC

Ashley Torres Towers, FCC

Nathan Squire

Leierin Carney, WI

Cathleen Martinez, FCC

Jennifer Johnson, FCC

Brenda Quispe, FCC

Veronica Farwell, FCC ASG

Cindy Quiralte, FCC ASG President

Juan Tirado, RC

Melanie Highfill, RC Classified Senate

Randall Vogt, SCCCD

Gricelda Spear, RC

Sandra Navarro, WI

Michelle Whiteside, FCC

Greg Jorgenson, FCC

Dena Corglat, FCC

Introduction of Guests (continued)

Shawn Wade. FCC

Cheryl Sullivan, SCCCD

Charles Francis, FCC

John Bengtson, SCCCD

Tabitha Villalba, FCC

Matthew Miyake, WI

Brian Droz, WI

Andrew Hernandez, FCC

Chris Hunter, NAISA

Nicole Zamora, FCC

Josh P. Zamora, FCC

Cris M. Bremer, FCC

Claudia Habib, FCC Academic Senate

Teresa Patterson, SCCCD

Gurdeep He'Bert, SCCCF

Wil Schofield, SCCCD

Janell Mendoza, NC

William Walker, ASG

Rene Villa, ASG

Joshua Roberts, ASG

Michael Olague, ASG

Amber Olmo, student

Daniel Thomas Clark, student

Grisanti Valencia, ASG

Caitlin Mack, ASG

Rachel McKinley, FCC ASG

Michael Wilson, ASG

Nathan Alonzo, FCC ASG

Shirley Bruegman

Anaccelly Hernandez, ASG

Donna Berry, RC

Pedro Navarro - Cruz, ASG

Lucy Ruiz, RC

Deborah Ikeda, NC

Rhyaan McClanahan, student

Eriica McClanahan, student

Airren McClanahan, student

Ivy Arana, FCC

Doris M. Griffin, SCCCD

Kelly Fowler, FCC

Alex Tavlian, Rampage

Troy Pope, Rampage

Gloria De La Cruz-Pulido, MC

Chris Villa, FCC

Marilyn Behringer, RC

Brian Speece, SCCCD

Introduction of Guests (continued)

Ashwaq Mohamed, FCC
Mulky Mohamed, FCC
Marcelena Cervantes, FCC
Lucas Reyes, WI ASG
Harpreet Manchanda, WI ASG
Raymundo Berlayo Jr., FCC
Braulio Bahena, FCC
Joey Baldwin, FCC
Nia Ayala, WI
Greg Taylor, SCCCD
Paul Schlesinger, FCC Rampage

Emily Kokka, WI

Changes to Agenda

President Feaver announced that the agenda and item no. 12-11 have been amended. Changes are indicated in bold and copies were provided for the Board and public.

Approval of Minutes

The minutes of the meetings of December 13, 2011, and January 10, 2012, were presented for approval.

Student Trustee Coronado stated his report to the Board for the January 10, 2012, meeting was omitted from the minutes. A motion was made by Mr. Nishinaka and seconded by Ms. Barreras to approve the minutes of the meetings of December 13, 2011, and January 10, 2012, as amended to include the reports of the student trustees. The motion carried without objection.

Delegations, Petitions, and Communications

The following students voiced concerns about the late notice and potential elimination of summer school and limited class offerings: Nathan Squire, Shawn Wade, Elizabeth Servin, Maria R. Perales, Mario Reyna, Richard Iyall, Grisanti Valencia, Ashley Torres Towers, Amber Olmo, Daniel Clark, Cathleen Martinez, Cindy Quiralte, Rhyaan McClanahan.

FCC Student Body president Cindy Quiralte presented a petition in support of summer school with 4000 signatures. Student Trustee Coronado accepted the petition.

Campus Reports

Mr. Cantu reported on topics of interest from Fresno City College. Copies of the report were provided for the Board and interested attendees, and contained the following highlights:

- FCC instructor Robert Boyd is one of four faculty members to receive the 2012 Hayward Award from the Academic Senate for Community Colleges.
- On February 1, the African American Faculty and Staff Association organized the opening day ceremony for the 2012